Monday, January 12, 2015

My Strange Addiction!

Kiss of Broken GlassKiss of Broken Glass by Madeleine Kuderick

My rating: 5 of 5 stars


Madeleine Kuderick’s gripping debut is a darkly beautiful and lyrical novel in verse, perfect for fans of Sonya Sones and Laurie Halse Anderson. Kiss of Broken Glass pulses with emotion and lingers long after the last page.

In the next seventy-two hours, Kenna may lose everything—her friends, her freedom, and maybe even herself. One kiss of the blade was all it took to get her sent to the psych ward for seventy-two hours. There she will face her addiction to cutting, though the outcome is far from certain.

When fifteen-year-old Kenna is found cutting herself in the school bathroom, she is sent to a facility for mandatory psychiatric watch. There, Kenna meets other kids like her—her roommate, Donya, who’s there for her fifth time; the birdlike Skylar; and Jag, a boy cute enough to make her forget her problems . . . for a moment. ~ Goodreads

I enjoyed this novel much more than I thought I would. For one thing, the whole idea of cutting oneself, is to me, something unimaginable, but through this poetic writing, I began to understand this unusual addiction. This book definitely gives insight into not only the addiction itself, but also the peer pressure felt by young people everyday. You will not be able to put this book down.



View all my reviews